Olaopa is named chairman of the Federal Civil Service Commission by Tinubu.

Olaopa is named chairman of the Federal Civil Service Commission by Tinubu.Subject to Senate approval, President Bola Tinubu confirmed Prof. Tunji Olaopa's appointment as Chairman of the Federal Civil Service Commission on Friday.

In addition, he nominated eleven more people to oversee the nation's civil service beginning on November 30, 2023.

This was revealed in a statement released on Friday under the heading "President Tinubu appoints new Federal Civil Service Commission leadership team," by Ajuri Ngelale, Special Advisor to the President on Media and Publicity.

Dr. Daudu Jalo, Gekpe Isu (Akwa Ibom and Cross River), Dr. Chamberlain Nwele (Anambra, Ebonyi, and Enugu), Rufus Godwins (Rivers, Delta, and Bayelsa), Dr. Adamu Hussein (Niger and the FCT), and Aminu Nabegu (Jigawa and Kano) are among the 11 other members.

The others are Jide Jimoh (Lagos and Ogun), Shehu Aliyu (Kebbi, Sokoto, and Zamfara), Hindatu Abdullahi (Kaduna and Katsina), and Dr. Festus Oyebade (Osun and Oyo).

"The tenure of the current Federal Civil Service Commission Chairman and membership expires on November 29, 2023, and the new FCSC leadership is expected to commence work with effect from November 30, 2023, upon confirmation," Ngelale stated.

In order to promote growth rather than impede it, the President stated that he anticipates the new FCSC leadership to "competently facilitate the transformation, reorientation, and digitisation of the Federal Bureaucracy."

Additionally, he expressed optimism that the leaders will fully adhere to his administration's Renewed optimism Agenda and encourage the private sector to participate in the growth of the Nigerian economy.

Olaopa was born in Aáwé, Oyo State, on December 20, 1959. In 1984, he graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Political Science from the University of Ibadan in Oyo State. He graduated with a Master's degree from the same course at the same university in 1987.

As he advanced in his academic career, Olaopa graduated with a Doctorate in Public Administration from the Commonwealth Open University in the United Kingdom in 2006. Olaopa is a skilled author, political scientist, and public administrator. In 1988, he worked at the State House in Abuja as the Chief Research Officer, Policy Analyst, and Speechwriter.

In addition, he served as the Federal Ministry of Education's Coordinator for Education Sector Analysis and Head of the Policy Division in the Office of the Minister. He worked for the Bureau of Public Service Reforms as the Director of Programs.

Olaopa also served as the Head of Service of Nigeria's Special Assistant on Reforms for Public Service Reforms. During his working life, Olaopa held the position of Director in the Department of External Links and Reforms at the Office of the Head of the Federation's Civil Service.

The Director of the Department of Ministries, Departments and Agencies, Department of the Bureau of Public Service Reforms became the next FCSC chairman.

Later on, Olaopa rose to the position of Permanent Secretary in a number of government departments, including the Federal Ministry of Communications Technology, the Federal Ministry of Youth Development, the Federal Ministry of Labor and Productivity, and the Nigerian Civil Service.

Olaopa founded the Ibadan School of Government and Public Policy in 2016 after leaving the civil service.

Olaopa received an appointment as a professor of public policy at Lead City University in Ibadan, Oyo State, in 2018.

Olaopa was the recipient of the Thabo Mbeki Award for Public Service and Scholarship in 2018 as well as the National Productivity Award in 2015.


Start a discussion

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال